Growing into Me with Bipolar


The question is, is it me generating the talking, or is it me replaying my mother talking to me?  This particular ‘voice in my head’ is not another alter, thank god!  I mean, I don’t know what I’d do if I had an alter that was just like my mother.  So, I’m glad its just a ‘voice’  instead.  But how do I make it stop?  Or better yet, how do I make it say nice, supportive things (like mothers are supposed to do) instead of tearing me down at every junction, reminding me how stupid I am, worthless, incompetent.  Even though I have discarded her from my life 4+ years ago, she is still in there, telling me all the reasons I don’t deserve, can’t handle, am too stupid for whatever thing is in the current moment.

After more than a year of therapy working on getting over and dealing with and growing beyond my huge losses 4 years ago, I am finally seeing that I was not the sole person to blame for my marriage falling apart.  Nor was my ex’s behavior after it fell apart my responsibility, when he allowed his family to be evicted in the middle of Iowa winter.  When he allowed us to be on the street, until we had no choice but to go to my mother.  That losing my job because I was unstable at this time, was not my fault.  That none of this was solely my fault.  Sure, I said and did things I regret, would like to take back.  But that doesn’t change that my ex was to blame as well.  And so was my mother.  So, now that I have finally gotten to the point to be able to see that there is plenty of blame to go around….her voice has come back into my mind, talking along with my internal thoughts, pushing them down and taking over my thinking.  Her voice keeps ‘winning’ all the discussions I have inside.  There is really not much point in having an internal dialog when her voice is present, as she always beats my own arguments and positions back down into nothingness.

Why, after exiling her from my life these last 4 yrs and managing to exile her from my thoughts enough to start to believe in myself, why is her voice returning?  I am now feeling like I am sinking back into the hole it took these years to climb out of.  I feel there is no escape from her, she will always be in there tearing me apart and assuring my failures.  I need to stop her.  Stop her voice.  But when she talks she convinces me she is right, and I sadly yield.  How can I stop her if I believe what she is saying about me?  I want to argue with her, but I know I won’t win.  I want to cast her out of my mind, but I know she’ll come right back, weaseling her way through the bars of my consciousness.  I try to ignore her, but she never stops.  Eventually I break down, and that is the beginning of the end yet again.

I think, if I could rid her voice from my mind, it might actually become a habitable, even enjoyable, space.  I think I might be less anxious, less terrified of being judged by others as imperfect, as odd, as unacceptable.  I might be able to believe in myself, to try things and do things without being filled with terror.  Terror of failure, terror of not being perfect, of being noticed at all.  I might be able find the me that never grew, and I might be able to finally grow.  Grow into myself.  Be the person I should’ve been, or one like her, without being abused and traumatized every moment of every day.

But first, I need to silence her voice.  So I can hear my own.

Comments on: "Who Is That Talking In My Head?" (5)

  1. This is obviously related to the fact that she just contacted you. You’re triggered and shocked and afraid, but don’t you forget you can do this! She doesn’t have that power over you anymore, it’s just the thought of it in the past that’s creating this voice today. I know you won’t get dragged into her abuse again, you’re stronger now! xoxo

    Like

    • Actually, she only contacted me today. I know how I ordered the posts makes it seem otherwise–sorry! But in therapy, I have been processing her for a couple weeks, and it was because I kept getting stuck hearing her in my head telling me how I was wrong and all. And so I have been kinda stumped processing past this point 4 yrs ago. Then, today, coincidentally, I receive a card of some kind from her. I thought that might be my destiny speaking to me—I will never be rid of her, never finish processing her, never get her out of my head, cuz even after 4 yrs of silence, she found me.

      Like

      • Oh ok, I did ge it wrong I guess, but my point still stands, you can beat this! It’s hard getting rid of the voices that hammered down our ears for so so long, I too get them from time to time, I guess it’s part of what abuse leaves behind… xoxo

        Like

  2. In the book “Toxic Parents” the author says that a toxic parent will follow you even after they are dead. So there is no point trying to escape from her voice. They say that if a monster is chasing you, the best thing you can do is to turn around and look it in the eye. Then it will have no power over you. Although now that I am caring for Monster Mother, I find the best thing to be an attitude of distant disdain. That seems to keep her at arm’s length, which is as close as I want her. Good luck with yours!

    Like

    • thanks for the well wishes. god, i hope that book is not right about toxic parents following after their death! i would like to think I might be able to be free of her once before i die.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Dearest Someone,

Writing about wellbeing

smilebe4tears

Keeping positive in a unforgiving world when you are different.

Killing Me Softly: Emotional & Psychological Abuse

Now that physical abuse is in the limelight and punishable by law, abusers have resorted to more insidious forms of control. The effects are just as destructive, more enduring, and more difficult to overcome.

Therapy Bits

Living life with dissociative identity disorder and complex ptsd

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

Seachy Waffles On. A chronic way of life!

The ups and downs of 21st Century life as a disabled dad. This is an honest account of my successes and failures and what I have learnt from them. How my disability has shaped my future, my neverending journey towards acceptance and a little bit of sarcasm and humour along the way. I have been battling Chronic Pain for 14 years and have made small steps towards living life again. I'm not after sympathy or pity, but I hope to encourage others and get a few words of encouragement myself along the way. Life is for living, pain or not make the most of things!

The Rheumatic Roller Coaster

The ups and downs of life with chronic pain, fatigue and depression

Indisposed and Undiagnosed

the invisible illness

All Things Chronic

Painkills2@aol.com

..Kicking Strokes Ass In Words..

Rambles, verses, poems from a stroke survivor ...

takingthemaskoff

Addiction, Mental Health, Stigma, Spirituality

Things I Learned In Therapy

a blog for posterity.

The Invisible Scar

raising awareness of emotional child abuse, its effects on adult survivors & the power of words on children

Many of us

Living life with dissociative identity disorder and complex PTSD

Precious Things

The path to healing is not a yellow brick road...

GreenGrowsDark

Mental Health Awareness

BlueHero

An anxiety and depression blog

The Bipolar Codex

Kate McDonnell: Art, design and bipolar disorder

The Demons Of My Insane Sanity

WE ARE THE AUTHOR OF OUR OWN LIFE: SO LET'S MAKE OUR STORY ROCK! – S.L.EDAGO

My Minds Inside, Living with D.I.D

I am a young Female who is diagnosed D.I.D, and PTSD, welcome to my world.

Many of us's blog

Living life with dissociative identity disorder and complex PTSD

My Travels with Depression

A journey through therapy

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

suicidalsupergirl

saving the world, one malady at a time.

Bipolar For Life

Memoirs of a Wounded Healer

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

A Canvas Of The Minds

A unique collaboration of different perspectives on mental health and life

