Growing into Me with Bipolar

Something Adventurous


Well, it was for me, anyway.  My therapist has been trying to help me find some way or something to do to get me out of the house and socializing with others.  I tried a few groups offered at my clinic, but just never felt like going again, even if I had a ride scheduled to pick me up.  I just kept cancelling, until I realized, I really didn’t want to do them.  She tried other mental health related places, that you need your case manager to refer you to, and they look to have some fun things too…but, again, when the time came, I was never ready, didn’t want to be ready and ended up never going anyway.  I dreaded the day of the group, felt awkward, uncomfortable, almost ill…. just in thinking about going.

But, my T most recently told me of a web site called meetup.com which is has nothing to do with mental health whatsoever.  What it is, is a website where anyone at all can start a group on any topic imaginable, and have a page on the site accessible to any visitor to the site.  They have book groups, beer and wine groups, animal groups, computer groups, games groups, hiking groups, and blends of all the groups, like beer and dog groups or wine and reading groups. They pages/groups you find are all in your general area, and some even specific to your city.

Well, so I found a group in my area, that is for needlepointers of any kind.  I have been doing embroidery and cross-stitch since I was about 12 when my 2nd cousins introduced it to me when I stayed with them for a summer and was bored.
They had pillowcases with stamps on, tea towels with stamps, table runners with stamps…that was how I first started stitching.  I continued in my life remembering from time to time the fun of embroidery and then later forgetting again.  I have been off and on in the last 7 yrs or so, working on a project that I just don’t get much done on from sitting to sitting.

So when I saw this group listed on meetup.com I just had to join!  Something I’ve always enjoyed doing, but never seem to have the time to do much of, and it is with other stitchers who enjoy it too!  And it is held in a needlepoint shop, so you will never run out of projects, threads, etc.  So, I went to my first outing for the Stitching Group yesterday, and despite getting up late, my GPS conking out on me, and having to find it on my own, I still managed to be only 30 min late, and really, really enjoyed my first meeting.  I managed to get some progress made in the remaining 4 hrs, and had a nice visit with the lady who started the group.  There were others stitchers there as well, not part of our group.  It turns out that the NeedlePoint Shop welcomes any customers to come stitch every Saturday.  So, if I want to go and visit and sew more than every 3 weeks, I can!  Or i can just go whenever my group meets.

In any case, I had the best time talking with the group person and the other stitchers, and sewing.  And I didn’t have any issues of forboding like I have had when thinking/trying/planning attending any of the other groups thru my mental health clinic, or independent places that your clinic makes you a referral for.  This group was not held together by the thread of mental illness….it was simply people who like to sew.  And it was GREAT. I am already looking forward to the next meeting.

PS

For those of you who might be interested in a NON mental health group, you should definitely check out meetup.com.  Also, they are much more about ones interest, rather than ones illness.  And I guarantee you can find something regarding your interests.

Comments on: "Something Adventurous" (8)

  1. WOW! That is great! I’m proud of you, and I mean it. It must be so refreshing to be among like-minded people who love to do what you love to do….and it has nothing to do with the mental health sh*t that we are constantly living in the midst of….so what do we need it for, in terms of getting out and meeting people??? I do have a meetup membership, and they faithfully send me notices, but so far nothing has jumped out at me that’s worth leaving my comfort zone for. Have fun stitching!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OH, I’m so glad you’ve heard of it! If you take a minute or so (if you haven’t done this already) at the bottom of the page they have a couple dozen subjects of potential interest. just click on any you like, and you will get a email every so often on some meetups that are related. Hope you find one sometime!

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL you wouldn’t believe the topics they send me, since I live in a part of the country that is populated by Omphalospectionists (Navel Contemplators), so I usually get a good howl out of the totally bizarre groups they have going on out here. Next time they send me a notice I’ll copy-paste it to you! Like you, I am not at all interested in the Mental Health topics. My body is too busted up to do the Power Hikers, and I’m too effing old to go out for the Wiccan Warpin’ Woofers. OK, well, maybe that one 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. even if i was stitching in a mental health group at the clinic, i would not enjoy it as much as i do just a plain old bunch of people enjoying stitching. somehow, the fact that it is at the clinic, and that is why everyone is in the group, makes it more about mental health as opposed to a regular interest group. i meet people who like stitching. not meet people who are also clients at my clinic. clinic groups are above all mental health groups first. you just can’t get away from that. **oh, i am with you, im not doing hiking, climbing or any other physical strength/skill activity. just not gonna happen.

    Like

  4. manyofus1980 said:

    This is great Kat. I’m glad you found this group. It seems like you love it already. I must see what is in my area, if its in my area I mean! The site meetup I mean. I’m off to look now! XX

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sometimes it can take a while to find that something that will grab our attention and focus. I think the most important thing is to be honest and not find ourselves doing things the support workers, and the like, set up for us. It’s really nice to read this, Kat, and I do hope it makes all the difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. PS I’m off to check out the website!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Dearest Someone,

Glory and Mess

smilebe4tears

Keeping positive in a unforgiving world when you are different.

Killing Me Softly: Emotional & Psychological Abuse

Now that physical abuse is in the limelight and punishable by law, abusers have resorted to more insidious forms of control. The effects are just as destructive, more enduring, and more difficult to overcome.

Therapy Bits

The process of going through psychotherapy

Brighton Bipolar

Adult Survivor of Child Abuse and Diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder - Working towards ending the stigma of Mental Illness

Seachy Waffles On. A chronic way of life!

The ups and downs of 21st Century life as a disabled dad. This is an honest account of my successes and failures and what I have learnt from them. How my disability has shaped my future, my neverending journey towards acceptance and a little bit of sarcasm and humour along the way. I have been battling Chronic Pain for 14 years and have made small steps towards living life again. I'm not after sympathy or pity, but I hope to encourage others and get a few words of encouragement myself along the way. Life is for living, pain or not make the most of things!

The Rheumatic Roller Coaster

The ups and downs of life with chronic pain, fatigue and depression

Indisposed and Undiagnosed

the invisible illness

All Things Chronic

Painkills2@aol.com

..Kicking Strokes Ass In Words..

Rambles, verses, poems from a stroke survivor ...

takingthemaskoff

addiction mental health stigma

Therapy Sucks

my journey of fumbling through therapy.

The Invisible Scar

raising awareness of emotional child abuse, its effects on adult survivors & the power of words on children

Many of us

Living life with dissociative identity disorder and complex PTSD

Precious Things

The path to healing is not a yellow brick road...

GreenGrowsDark

Mental Health Awareness

BlueHero

An anxiety and depression blog

The Bipolar Codex

Kate McDonnell: Art, design and bipolar disorder

The Demons Of My Insane Sanity

WE ARE THE AUTHOR OF OUR OWN LIFE: SO LET'S MAKE OUR STORY ROCK! – S.L.EDAGO

My Minds Inside, Living with D.I.D

I am a young Female who is diagnosed D.I.D, and PTSD, welcome to my world.

Many of us's blog

Living life with dissociative identity disorder and complex PTSD

My Travels with Depression

A journey through therapy

wrongwithlife

The immeasurable terrors of her mind...

suicidalsupergirl

saving the world, one malady at a time.

Bipolar For Life

Memoirs of a Wounded Healer

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

A Canvas Of The Minds

A unique collaboration of different perspectives on mental health and life

